Freewrite 09/19/2015 – A Dark Sider Treading Light


Last night at work I had a shift that ended at midnight and it was dead and boring so I wrote this poem on a piece of receipt paper

A Dark Sider Treading Light

By: James Revels III

I’m a dark-sider treading the light.
My pride’s the monster in the night; A boogie man.
Where I stand on this quick sand pit, hard headed like a brick. Watch me build a mansion where I sit.
I’m extremely moderate the lifestyle of the meek, sleek in modesty, rich in honesty. Mediocrity it bothers me.
This flow is in my vein: capillaries, arteries.
Chisel out my path through these forest trees like carpentry.
Goals are bulls eyes gaining mastery in archery.
Circuitry made if paper sheets watch me solder reams.
Fame and fortune not the family is the modern dream. There’s nothing wrong with that. As long as we face the fact.
Instead of make it up and redress it like a Barbie’s back.

IMG_0389

6 thoughts on “Freewrite 09/19/2015 – A Dark Sider Treading Light

  1. Hello Leo! It’s been 3 years since you started to follow my blog. Then? What happened? Maybe I did not reciprocate out of ignorance of how to! Today I checked all my followers, I couldn’t believe I been blogging that long!
    But then, I remember what happened? I took a course on WordPress.com and I went wild with my blogs. Then I dropped the ball, couldn’t get the knack of the whole blogging thing until this 2015. Hope to see you again! I like your post! :-)

    1. Hey! Nice to see you again?! Well for me life happened. A lot of things happened between now and then. I also follow A LOT of blogs so my feed is extremely random and broad. Hope all is going well over on your blog.

      1. Is going great! Building a good number of followers with everything I post! So I also got problem keeping up with everybody! My book shall be in Amazon in a couple of days–it might touch your heart! Take a look! :-)

Feedback is greatly appreciated

