Words for a Father Who Doesn’t Deserve Them (August 4th, 2009)


Words for a Father Who Doesn’t Deserve Them

Composed by: James Revels III

Blind to the problem
Dear to the people
Close your eyes to the issues
Turn you ear away from you responsiblities
Your son
Your seed
The one you never got to know
The one you never met
Though we lived in the same house
But not the same home
Fort minor said it best
“I want you know it’s a little fucked up
How I’m stuck here waiting
At times debating
Telling you that I’ve had it with you and your career
Me and the rest of the family sitting here”
I wonder if my sister feels the same way
If she does she’ll never say because she loves you
I do too,
But sometimes I can’t stand you
Can’t stand your pressure
Can’t stand your autocracy
Can’t stand how I’m not part of you hierarchy
I know you enforce rules to help me
But sometimes I don’t need a king
I need a father
I’ve been wishing for all these years
Hoping I can have one
but my wish hasn’t came true yet
I wonder if I can trade this shell of a father for a real one
One that understands me
One that wants to know me
Not one that wants to rule me
Or one that wants to mold me
Though you weren’t ever really proud of me
But I never really cared
I can’t wait to leave
I hope you take care

(August 4th, 2009)

8 thoughts on “Words for a Father Who Doesn’t Deserve Them (August 4th, 2009)

  1. [Stares at screen]

    The moment when reality breaks through the material, more than touching your heart.

    You are a great writer, who just burst past text. Speechless & grateful.

    You’re an amazing writer and heart. A profound loss for your father, he doesn’t know about. :[

  2. This is amazing. And scarily similar to the “relationship” I have with my father.

    Piece of advice (if it isn’t welcome, then disregard it):

    Don’t count on your father, instead be your own father over the neglected child you used to be. I know, easier said than done, right? But I promise you, once you managed to pull it off, the whole issue you have with your father is rendered unimportant.

    My father is merily an existence to me, and I’m stronger than ever.

    Loved this piece, man. I’m happy WordPress suggested you as a follow :)

  3. I had a pretty bad relationship with my own father, and it did not end well. Even though that was a very long time ago, and in another country (I am 61, and in England) it resonates greatly with my experience. Regards, Pete.

Feedback is greatly appreciated

