Leo’s Theme – A King’s Work is Never Finished

12 Feb

Lately I’ve been working on my music composition skill and I need feedback please help! lol here’s a link to a short  video game theme instrumental for Leo’s. It’s inspired by the composer ZUN, who composes music for a game called “Touhou”. listen and tell me what you think.

Leo’s Theme – A King’s Work is Never Finished (Composed by: James Revels III)

19 Responses to “Leo’s Theme – A King’s Work is Never Finished”

  1. gigoid February 12, 2012 at 22:47 #

    I’m not much of a gamer; my son was quite adept, though, and I’ve heard a lot of the theme music. This is as good as I’ve heard; I could see Mario or some other creature bouncing around the screen in my head, and it fit right in….so, as I say, my opinion is not what you’d call expert, but I know what I like….good work, IMHO….

    • Leo Rex February 12, 2012 at 23:06 #

      Thank you. I’m glad you took time to listen. I appreciate you’re compliments and opinion :D

  2. Joanne Seto February 12, 2012 at 23:19 #

    great beat! i’m a piano and bass player and like improvising my own music for the ‘heat of the moment’ i have a pretty good music background and i gotta say this sounds pretty catchy. you don’t have to take my advice but i’ll give it anyway. I listened to this song twice now and i think you have a good tune going on but the drums over power it a bit much. Think of it like a garage band. Try lowering the drum beat and perhapes turning up the melody and see where that takes you, if you dont like it that’s totally up to you!
    Cheers :)

    • Leo Rex February 12, 2012 at 23:25 #

      Thanks for the praise and advice. I’ll try you’r advice out and see where it leads me

  3. edwardmykle February 12, 2012 at 23:48 #

    Leo, this is a great effort and I really dig the melody, very catchy indeed. I have a long background in music, from playing multiple instruments to arranging and producing my own music. One thing I would suggest is either adjusting the level on the snare that you have through the song or possibly finding a different snare sample, as I feel like that is taking away from the overall piece.

    Again great effort and I look forward to hearing more of your future work!

    All the best!
    -em

    • Leo Rex February 13, 2012 at 14:27 #

      Thanks for the advice. Its greatly appreciated and ill try to make use of it as best i can

  4. dannypuppet February 13, 2012 at 05:14 #

    I like it. has a really good video game feel to it.

  5. dan4kent February 13, 2012 at 20:40 #

    The tune was genuinely catchy…the way the melody line expands and contracts harmonically makes sense….especially with its application being a video game.
    Lion’s are not timid so I get the aggressive percussion tracks…but for me, they were a little too much in my face. Lion’s are kings of their domain so they don’t have to hurry all the time…maybe installing some legatto as a brief 2-3-4 second bridge between passages might be a fun experiment…I’m not the pro, you are and you clearly have ‘the gift’. I look forward to hearing where your safari takes you. You must be so pumped! Thank-you for letting us peek in on your creative process.

    • Leo Rex February 14, 2012 at 23:26 #

      Thanks for the compliments and praise I deeply appreciate it. The bridge idea sounds interesting, I might apply it to my future works.

  6. E A M Harris February 14, 2012 at 05:50 #

    I liked the music, but couldn’t really relate it to lions. All the films I’ve seen of lions shows the adults moving quite slowly and smoothly, though the cubs are quicker and less stately. The music by itself made me smile and cheered me. Sorry I can’t express this in musical terms – I don’t know them.

    • Leo Rex February 14, 2012 at 23:23 #

      lol im happy you took the time to comment :D it’s not necessarily a “lion’s” theme, it’s a theme for “Leo”‘s so I’m thinking of more of the astrological qualities more than a real lion. Thanks for the compliment i hope you stop by a read some more

  7. Gwen Sears Bullock February 19, 2012 at 09:21 #

    Definitely one for revving you up. Produces anxiety upon first hearing ( at least in old ladies)

  8. Lee Broom March 7, 2012 at 23:50 #

    Art in every form has been the love of my life for 72 years. As I listened to this bit of musical meandering for the third time I decided that there is no good or bad art. Taste perhaps. But not art (I think I must have thunk that thought before.) . I’ll listen again tomorrow. Perhaps I’ll bring the family.

    • Leo Rex March 8, 2012 at 00:04 #

      Alright and Let me know what they think as well

  9. Sarah March 22, 2012 at 14:44 #

    love
    love
    love
    good work!

    • Leo Rex March 23, 2012 at 02:34 #

      Thank
      Thank
      Thank
      You
      LOL

  10. managingemergencies September 6, 2012 at 18:44 #

    I like it. I play a lot of video games and I think it will definitely work in that arena or Youtube videos.

    • Leo Rex September 6, 2012 at 22:03 #

      Thank for the acclaim and taking the time to listen to music. I’m glad you enjoyed it. I hope to have one of my songs featured in a major game

Feedback is greatly appreciated

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,408 other followers

